The winners of the 2018 UGS Grassland Farmer of the Year Competition were announced at the 59 Annual Conference on 23rd January 2018.  The Competition was again kindly sponsored by Danske Bank.  Competition was high and included entries from all counties in Northern Ireland.  First round judging was undertaken by UGS Past Presidents James morrison and John Henning.  The final round of judging then saw the finalists visited by the 2017 winner Reggie Lilburn from Dromore and Competitions Secretary Steven Morrison.


Overall winner - Grassland Farmer of the Year 2018 was John Egerton, suckler  and sheep producer from Rosslea, Co Fermanagh.

Runners Up were Leslie Beggs, a dairy farmer from Omagh, Co Tyrone and Harold Johnston, a dairy farmer from Ahoghill, Co Antrim.

Commendation award for an innovative system and passion for grass-based beef production went to Paul Turley, Downpatrick, Co Down.

Young Beef & Sheep Award went to Philip Truesdale, Ballyward, Co Down.

Young Dairy farmer award went to John Picken, Hllsborough, Co Down


To view the presentation by UGS Competitions Secretary, Steven Morrison click HERE


John Milligan, UGS President, and Rodney Brown, Danske Bank present the cup to the 2018 winner, John Egerton

bwd  Page 1/2  fwd


Upcoming Events

No events